Numerous major and minor sponsors support the Couven Museum in its acquisitions and in the creation of its exhibitions programme.


The new Museum Guide, published in 2010, was financed by the Peter & Irene Ludwig Foundation and the Regional Association of the Rhineland.

The Museum Association funded the purchase of the painting “The Family of Lawyer Janssen” by Clemens Bewer from 1843. The Museum Association and the Sparkasse Aachen financed the acquisition of an interior painted by Hans Schaffrath from the 1930s that depicts a room of the old Couven Museum on Seilgraben, which was destroyed in the war.

The Regional Association of the Rhineland funded the exhibition “How the West was Sobered Up – Coffee and tea take Europe by storm” (2010/11) and “The Infant Jesus in a Glass Shrine – the magic of Baroque convent handicrafts” (2011/12).

Lindt funded the exhibition “Sweet Temptation. From cocoa to chocolate” (2009),  the Stawag the exhibition “Nice ‘n Warm. The culture of room heating from the Renaissance to the Imperial Era” (2009/10), Babor the exhibition “La Beauté – The History of Cosmetics” (2011). The Peter & Irene Ludwig Foundation financed the catalogue for the exhibition “Inner Life. Wolfgang Nestler – An art project”.

Zahlreiche große und kleine Sponsoren unterstützen das Couven-Museum Aachen in seinen Ankäufen und bei der Gestaltung des Ausstellungsprogramms.


Der neue, 2010 erschienene Museumsführer wurde von der Peter & Irene Ludwig Stiftung und dem Landschaftsverband Rheinland finanziert.

Der Museumsverein unterstützte den Ankauf des Gemäldes „Die Familie des Kanzleirates Janssen“ von Clemens Bewer aus dem Jahr 1843. Der Museumsverein und die Sparkasse Aachen finanzierten den Ankauf eines Interieurgemäldes von Hans Schaffrath aus den 1930er Jahren, das einen Raum des alten, im Krieg zerstörten Couven-Museums am Seilgraben zeigt.

Der Landschaftsverband Rheinland unterstützte die Ausstellungen „Die Ernüchterung des Abendlandes. Kaffee und Tee erobern Europa“ (2010/11) und „Das Christkind im Glasschrein. Vom Zauber barocker Klosterarbeiten“ (2011/12).

Lindt unterstützte die Ausstellung „Süße Versuchung. Vom Kakao zur Schokolade“ (2009),  die Stawag die Ausstellung „SchönWarm. Die Kultur des Heizens zwischen Renaissance und Kaiserzeit“ (2009/10), Babor die Ausstellung „La Beauté. Zur Geschichte der Kosmetik“ (2011). Die Peter & Irene Ludwig Stiftung finanzierte den Katalog zur Ausstellung „Innenleben. Wolfgang Nestler – Ein Kunstprojekt“.